Find Articles & More (Databases) - ENG 111 - Hathaway-Pollard - LibGuides at North Carolina Wesleyan University

General - For All Subjects

Databases with full-text articles on a variety of disciplines. A good place to start for almost any subject.

Academic Search Complete A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR Includes access to the Arts & Sciences I, Life Sciences, and Religion & Theology collections.
ProQuest Central Combines 39 single databases into a large academic research resource with access to millions of full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals
Wiley Online Library
Warning: Only articles & journals with the "open lock" icon are available for use.

CREDO: a great alternative to Wikipedia!

CREDO Reference Online reference library with 750+ reference eBooks

Databases with pro & con arguments on current issues.

CQ Researcher Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
eLibrary This easy-to-use curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for schools and libraries of all kinds, as well as additional subject-based material.
SIRS Issues Researcher Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.

Streaming video resources.

Films On Demand Video Collection Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. Also includes content formerly in the NC LIVE Video Collection.

Humanities

Arts & Humanities Database Provides online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including art, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and others.
Education Database Includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
Gale Literary Sources Combines Literature Resource Center with Gale Virtual Reference Library in one interface. Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
History Study Center A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.
Linguistics Database This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database contains millions of abstracts from journals and linked full-text when available.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.
Religion Database Has over 200 full-text journals, over 150 with ongoing full text. Covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions

Medical & Public Health

CINAHL Plus with Full Text Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Consumer Health Database Includes over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM.
Health & Medical Collection Includes biomedical content from MEDLINE as well as a core of premier scholarly journals in full text such as The New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, and The BMJ.
Healthcare Administration Database Comprehensive coverage of the healthcare industry including management, administration, regulations, policies, and planning.
Nursing & Allied Health Database Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
Public Health Database Delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text.
PubMed PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 34 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

Natural Sciences

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
Biological Science Database Includes research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science as well as access to MEDLINE.
Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database ProQuest’s atmospheric science coverage extends Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) by providing a sizable element of full-text access along with comprehensive discovery through the extensive abstracts and indexes structured using controlled vocabulary managed by expert editorial teams. For coverage of aquatic science, the collection features the entire range of bibliographic records from Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA).
Materials Science Database The collection contains materials science related full-text articles and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database.
Science Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
Science Database Features over 1,145 titles, with more than 965 available in full text; Covers hundreds of topics including physics, astronomy, biology, earth science, and chemistry.

Career & Industry Databases

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center Career database that enables users to explore industries and careers, plan their education, and research best practices for resumes, cover letters, interviewing, networking, and salaries/benefits. Includes articles, career advice blogs, and streaming video.
Career & Technical Education Database The definitive source for vocational information. The database includes over 790 titles, with more than 700 available in full text.

Company/Industry Information

Data-Axle Reference Solutions (Formerly ReferenceUSA) Searchable database with detailed information, including addresses and phone numbers, on more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, U.S. new homeowners and movers.
Morningstar Investing Center Source for information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange–traded funds, and college savings plans

Social Sciences

Criminal Justice Database Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Education Database Includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
ERIC Educational Resources Information Center produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. Most of the content is available in full text for free.
HeinOnline Academic & Fastcase This collection includes law reviews, academic journals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, books from the 18th-19th centuries, all U.S. Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR, and constitutions for every country in the world. Also includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service thatfeatures powerful “best-case-first” tools that make research faster than ever.
Political Science Database Includes political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers
PsycARTICLES Access to nearly 100 full text psychology publications covering from 1894 to the present
Psychology Database Combines high impact full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos
PsycINFO Indexes abstracts from more than 2,500 academic psychology journals and also offers linked full-text to other psychology databases
Social Science Database Provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology
Sociology Database Full-text of more than 300 journals in sociology and social work; Covers topics including the history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more

Summon / Databases A-Z

Two other ways to access articles and online library resources:

1. Search across many of our databases at once with Summon. This is the same search as the long search box on the library homepage.

Summon provides a single unified search across journals, magazines, newspapers, eBooks, streaming video, images, and research guides. Note: it does not provide access to our physical collections; to find a print book or DVD, search the library catalog. For more about Summon and how to use it, click here.

2. Access individual databases by Title or Subject

Databases A-Z

Open Access

Google Scholar

Open Dissertations This free database searches more than 670,000 electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) from more than 25 universities worldwide.

ENG 111 - Hathaway-Pollard

Journal Finder

Library Help