LibGuides: JUS 318: Search for Articles

Criminal Justice Subject Specific

These resources are your first stop for criminal justice articles.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window Supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
HeinOnline Academic & Fastcase This link opens in a new window This collection includes law reviews, academic journals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, books from the 18th-19th centuries, all U.S. Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR, and constitutions for every country in the world. Also includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service thatfeatures powerful “best-case-first” tools that make research faster than ever.
NCJRS Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window The National Criminal Justice Research Service contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Access to nearly 100 full text psychology publications covering from 1894 to the present
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Combines high impact full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Indexes abstracts from more than 2,500 academic psychology journals and also offers linked full-text to other psychology databases
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, and sociology

General - For All Subjects

Databases with full-text articles on a variety of disciplines. A good place to start for almost any subject.
For Criminal Justice topics recommended general purpose databases are: Academic Search Complete, ProQuest Central, & Wiley Online Library.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Includes access to the Arts & Sciences I, Life Sciences, and Religion & Theology collections.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Combines 39 single databases into a large academic research resource with access to millions of full-text articles from thousands of scholarly journals
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Warning: Only articles & journals with the "open lock" icon are available for use.

A Database with brief, summary information on a wide range of topics - a good place to start your research to learn more about your topic.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window Online reference library with 750+ reference eBooks

Databases with pro/con articles on current issues of the day.

SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.

Database Search Tips

Best bets for search success:

Use keywords or key phrases instead of complete sentences
Put quotation marks around key phrases (like "social media" or "strength training") to get more accurate results
Use AND to combine keywords or phrases: "social media" AND "mental health"

Video on Database Searching Basics:

Database Search Basics

For videos on searching specific databases:

Hein Online & other Databases

HeinOnline contains court cases (Fastcase), law reviews, academic journals, the Congressional Record, US reports, US treaties, world constitutions, and more.

HeinOnline Academic & Fastcase This link opens in a new window This collection includes law reviews, academic journals, the Congressional Record, U.S. Reports back to 1754, books from the 18th-19th centuries, all U.S. Treaties, the Federal Register and CFR, and constitutions for every country in the world. Also includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service thatfeatures powerful “best-case-first” tools that make research faster than ever.

How to use HeinOnline

Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window Designed for undergraduate students, Exploring Race in Society contains proprietary essays that provide today’s students with a deeper understanding of how current issues stem from actions and policies of the past. Each topic includes an overview article and three essays suggesting potential solutions. Solutions essays are written by a diverse group of writers representing the fields of academia, journalism, medicine and other disciplines working to address issues related to race.
Omnigraphics Health Reference Sourcebooks This link opens in a new window Straightforward and authoritative eBooks on consumer health topics.

Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report) The Uniform Crime Reporting Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.

Films On Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new window Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. Also includes content formerly in the NC LIVE Video Collection.

Legal Information Institute (LII) We are a not-for-profit organization that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost. We carry out this vision by publishing law online, for free; creating materials that help people understand law; and exploring new technologies that make it easier for people to find the law.

Summon / Databases A-Z

Two other ways to access articles and online library resources:

1. Search across many of our databases at once with Summon. This is the same search as the long search box on the library homepage.

Summon provides a single unified search across journals, magazines, newspapers, eBooks, streaming video, images, and research guides. Note: it does not provide access to our physical collections; to find a print book or DVD, search the library catalog. For more about Summon and how to use it, click here.

2. Access individual databases by Title or Subject

Databases A-Z