How To Do Research

Databases with full-text articles on a variety of disciplines. A good place to start for almost any subject.

A Database with brief, summary information on a wide range of topics - a good place to start your research to learn more about your topic.

Databases with pro/con articles on current issues of the day.

Access Individual Databases by Topic/Subject or by Title

• Databases A-Z

Use the Dropdown Menu at the Top of the Page to Select Your Topic/Subject.

Best bets for search success:

• Use keywords or key phrases instead of complete sentences
• Put quotation marks around key phrases (like "social media" or "strength training") to get more accurate results
• Use AND to combine keywords or phrases: "social media" AND "mental health"

Video on Database Searching Basics:

• Database Search Basics

For videos on searching specific databases:

More Video Tutorials

Search across many of our databases at once with Summon. 

This is the same search as the long search box on the library homepage.

Summon provides a single unified search across journals, magazines, newspapers, eBooks, streaming video, images, and research guides. Note:  it does not provide access to our physical collections; to find a print book or DVD, search the library catalog. For more about Summon and how to use it, click here.

Journal Finder is a searchable database that allows you to determine whether the library provides electronic access to a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper title.