Cleveland Clinic
A nonprofit multispecialty academic medical center that integrates clinical and hospital care with research and education.
Mayo Clinic
A team of Web professionals and medical experts working side by side produces this site. Through this unique collaboration, you are given access to the experience and knowledge of the more than 3,700 physicians, scientists and researchers of Mayo Clinic.
Merck Manual
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers. Currently Merck is making the manual available for free in digital form in to professionals and patients.
National Library of Medicine
Free online resources from the U.S. National Library of Medicine, including reports, research, statistics, clinical trial information, and more.
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Database that indexes over 40,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Does not include full text of all results.
Wellness Council of America
Free resources: reports, case studies, surveys & samples, incentive campaigns, health promotion jobs, and websites.
American Cancer Society - Statistics
The Cancer Statistics Center website is a comprehensive interactive resource for learning about the cancer burden in the United States. Produced by the American Cancer Society, the website provides detailed statistics on a range of topics including: The estimated numbers of new cancer cases and deaths in the current year;
Current cancer incidence, mortality, and survival rates and trends; State-level risk factor and screening metrics.
National Cancer Institute (NIH)
The National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the federal government's principal agency for cancer research and training. Includes access to NCI research.
National Cancer Institute - Cancer Control
The Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences (DCCPS) aims to reduce cancer risk, incidence, and death and enhance quality of life for cancer survivors by supporting innovative research and recommending ways to apply that research in quality health care delivery.
Prevent Cancer Foundation
The Prevent Cancer Foundation is a U.S.-based nonprofit organization solely dedicated to cancer prevention and early detection.
American Stroke Association
The ASA works to prevent, treat and beat stroke by funding innovative research, fighting for stronger public health policies, and providing lifesaving tools and information. The ASA is a division of the American Heart Association.
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Part of the National Institutes for Health, the NHLBI provides global leadership in research, training, and education to prevent and treat heart, lung, blood and sleep disorders.
Diabetes
American Association of Diabetes Educators
AADE is an interdisciplinary professional membership organization dedicated to improving prediabetes, diabetes and cardiometabolic care through innovative education, management, and support.
American Diabetes Association
Website provides access to information, research, and services related to diabetes and diabetes prevention.
Diabetes Research Foundation Institute
The Diabetes Research Institute leads the world in cure-focused diabetes research. As one of the largest and most comprehensive research centers dedicated to curing diabetes, the DRI is aggressively working to develop a biological cure for diabetes by restoring natural insulin production and normalizing blood sugar levels without imposing other risks.
WHO - Diabetes Information
Information and statistics on diabetes from a global perspective provided by the World Health Organization.
Epidemiology
Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC)
The Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) is the leading professional association for infection preventionists (IPs) with more than 15,000 members. Our mission is to create a safer world through the prevention of infection. This is achieved by the provision of better care to promote better health at a lower cost.
Most APIC members are nurses, physicians, public health professionals, epidemiologists, microbiologists, or medical technologists.
Centers for Disease Control
CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
CDC WONDER
Wide Ranging Online Database for Epidemiological Research (WONDER) online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
WHO Epidemiolgy
Informaton and links on epideiology from the World Health Organization.
WHO Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER)
From the World Health Organization, The Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER) serves as an essential instrument for the rapid and accurate dissemination of epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks of diseases under the International Health Regulations and on other communicable diseases of public health importance, including emerging or re-emerging infections.
Health Education
MedlinePlus - Children's Page
A great collection of links, interactive tools and games geared to educate kids about health, nutrition and safety.
NC - Healthful Living, K-12 Standards Curriculum & Instruction
The intent of the North Carolina Healthful Living Standard Course of Study is to establish competency goals and objectives for the teaching and learning of behaviors that contribute to a healthful lifestyle and improved quality of life for all students.
The NC Healthful Living Standard Course of Study is a combination of two content areas: health education and physical education. The two courses should complement each other as reflected in the Essential Standard Strands and Clarifying Objectives.
Society for Nutrition Education and Behavior
The Society for Nutrition Education and Behavior (SNEB) represents the unique professional interests of nutrition educators worldwide. SNEB is dedicated to promoting effective nutrition education and healthy behavior through research, policy and practice and has a vision of healthy communities, food systems and behaviors.
Society for Public Health Education
The Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE) is a nonprofit, independent professional association that represents a diverse membership of nearly 4,000 health education professionals and students in the United States and 25 international countries.
SOPHE members work in schools, universities, voluntary organizations, health care settings, worksites, and in local, state and federal government agencies.
Fitness
CDC - Physical Activity
Information about CDC programs to promote physical activity and exercise; access to data and statistics.
Medline Plus - Sports Fitness
Medline Plus is a portal to a huge collection of sport and exercise related Internet resources that cover everything from the latest research news, hot topics in sports training, exercise statistics, etc.
America's Health Rankings
For nearly three decades, America’s Health Rankings has provided an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC)
The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
CDC - Healthy People Data
From the Centers for Disease Control, Healthy People provides science-based, national goals and objectives with 10-year targets designed to guide national health promotion and disease prevention efforts to improve the health of all people in the United States.
CDC - National Center for Health Statistics
Access to health surveys, vital statistics, reports, and other data complied by the Centers for Disease Control and other government agencies.
CDC - Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity: Data, Trends and Maps
Data, Trends, and Maps is an interactive database that provides information about the health status and behaviors of Americans, state-by-state, via clickable maps, charts, and tables. Topics include obesity, breastfeeding, physical activity, and other health behaviors and related environmental and policy data from multiple sources.
Childstats.gov
America's Children provides the most recent statistics on children and families in the United States across 41 report indicators, covering a range of domains: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education, and health.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The County Health Rankings & Roadmaps program is a collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. We believe America can become a nation where getting healthy, staying healthy, and making sure our children grow up healthy are top priorities. We have a vision of an America where we all strive together to build a national Culture of Health that enables all in our diverse society to lead healthy lives, now and for generations to come.
Finding & Using Health Statistics (NIH - NLM)
Online course for students in health sciences that describes different types of health statistics, how they are collected, and where they can be found.
HealthData
This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Health Insurance Data (US Census)
The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), American Community Survey (ACS), and Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
Kids Count Data Center
KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center.
The World Bank - Health, Nutrition and Population Data Portal
Health Dashboard - access tables and graphs showing the latest data on health, nutrition and population. Population Dashboard - access tables, graphs, population pyramids, and maps showing the latest data on population and demographic estimates and projections.
National Cancer Institute - Visuals Online
NCI Visuals Online contains images from the collections of the Office of Communications and Public Liaison, National Cancer Institute.
Food & Nutrition Information Center (USDA)
The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is a leader in online global nutrition information. Located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL) of the United States Department of Agriculture, the FNIC website contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information.
Nutrition.gov
Nutrition.gov is a USDA-sponsored website that offers credible information to help you make healthful eating choices. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
The Nutrition Source (Harvard School of Public Health)
The Nutrition Source is a leading authority on food and nutrition knowledge, providing science-based guidance for healthy living. Based at the Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health’s Department of Nutrition, The Nutrition Source offers comprehensive nutrition information through timely articles and FAQ’s, while recipes and tools, including The Healthy Eating Plate, facilitate the translation of food and nutrition knowledge into daily practice.
USDA - Nutrient Data Laboratory
Includes searchable USDA nutrient database via the US Department of Agriculture, and dietary supplement ingredient database.
Public Health
National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)
NACCHO is the only organization dedicated to serving every local health department in the nation. NACCHO serves 3000 local health departments and is the leader in providing cutting-edge, skill-building, professional resources and programs, seeking health equity, and supporting effective local public health practice and systems.
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
NAMI provides advocacy, education, support and public awareness so that all individuals and families affected by mental illness can build better lives.
Medline Plus - Mental Disorders
Links to information, programs, research, and government data. The information on this site should not be used as a substitute for professional medical care or advice.
National Institute of Mental Health
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. The NIMH is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
