Genealogy and Family History Resources

More links for each state are available in the guide below.

Nevada Guides

Texas Guides

NOTE: Some links in the list below may not be updated.

Alabama

Alabama Genealogy and History
Alabama Department of Archives and History

Alaska

Alaska State Archives

Arizona

Arizona Department of Health Services
Arizona State Library, Archives & Public Records

Arkansas

Arkansas State Library - Digital Documents

California

California State Archives

California State Library - Genealogy Hub
California Genealogy and History

Colorado

Colorado State Archives

Denver Public Library - Genealogy Collection

Connecticut

Connecticut State Library & Archives

Delaware

Delaware State Archives
Delaware Genealogical Society
University of Delaware Library Genealogy Resources

Florida

Florida Genealogical Society (Tampa)
Florida State Genealogical Society
State Archives of Florida

State Library of Florida

Georgia

Digital Library of Georgia
Georgia Archives: University System of Georgia
Georgia State University Library Digital Collections

Hawaii

State of Hawaii: Genealogy Research Guide
University of Hawaii Genealogical Resources

Idaho

Idaho State Archives Digital Collections
Idaho Historical Society: Family History

Illinois

Illinois State Genealogical Society
Illinois Department of Public Health: Vital Records
Illinois Department of Health: Genealogy
Illinois State Archives: Marriage Records

Indiana

Indiana Genealogy and History
Indiana State Library: Genealogy Collection
The Indiana History and Genealogy Database
The Indianapolis Public Library: Genealogy
Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center

Iowa

IowaGenealogyWeb Project
State Historical Society of Iowa
Iowa Department of Public Health: Vital Records
Iowa Graves Survey
Iowa Gravestone Photo Project

Kansas

Kansas Historical Society
Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Kansas City Public Library
Miami County, Kansas: Genealogy Records
Crawford County Genealogy
Kansas Genealogy and History
Kansas Genealogy – Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records
McPherson Public Library: Local History and Genealogy

Kentucky

Kentucky Historical Society
Kentucky Department of Public Health
Louisville Free Public Library: Genealogy Resources

Louisiana

Southeastern Louisiana University: Free Databases for Louisiana Genealogy
New Orleans Public Library
State Library of Louisiana: Genealogy
Louisiana State University
State of Louisiana: Online Public Vital Records
Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy

Maine

Maine State Library: Genealogy
Maine History and Genealogy
Maine Genealogy and History
Maine State Archives: Vital Records
Maine State Archives: Genealogy

Maryland

Maryland State Archives
Enoch Pratt Free Library
Baltimore County Public Library
Washington County Public Library

Massachusetts

Massachusetts State Archives
Massachusetts Early Vital Records
UMass Amherst Libraries

Michigan

Library of Michigan: Genealogy
Seeking Michigan
Flint Genealogical Society
Oakland County Genealogical Society
Michigan Department of Health & Human Services

Minnesota

Minnesota Historical Society
Minnesota Genealogical Society
Genealogy Resources at the University of Minnesota

Mississippi

Mississippi Department of Archives and History
Mississippi Genealogy and History Network
 

Missouri

Kansas City Public Library
Missouri Vital Records: Secretary of State
State Historical Society of Missouri

Montana

Montana Historical Society
Montana Memory Project
Missoula Public Library: Montana Collection
 

Nebraska

Nebraska State Historical Society
Nebraska DHHS: Genealogy Resources

Nevada

Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records
Nevada DPBH: Vital Records

New Hampshire

New Hampshire State Library: Genealogy
New Hampshire Secretary of State

New Jersey

State of New Jersey: Genealogy Resources
New Jersey Digital Highway
State of New Jersey Genealogical Holdings

New Mexico

USGen Archives: New Mexico
New Mexico Genealogy and History
New Mexico Commission of Public Records

New York

New York State Archives: Genealogy Resources
Genealogy Research at NYPL
New York Department of Health: Genealogy Records

North Carolina

State Library of North Carolina
North Carolina Family Records Online

North Dakota

North Dakota State University: Genealogy and Biography
State Historical Society of North Dakota

Ohio

State Library of Ohio
Ohio History Collection
Ohio State University Archives

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Historical Society
Oklahoma Department of Libraries

Oregon

Oregon Historical Records Index
Oregon Vital Records
Genealogical Forum of Oregon

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania State Archives
Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

Providence Public Library: Genealogy Resources
Rhode Island State Archives
Rhode Island Vital Records

South Carolina

South Carolina Vital Records
South Carolina Department of Archives and History
South Carolina DHEC

South Dakota

South Dakota State Historical Society
South Dakota Office of Vital Records

Tennessee

Tennessee Office of Vital Records
Tennessee State Library and Archives

Texas

Texas State Library and Archives Commission
University of Texas Austin Resources

Utah

Utah State Archives
Utah Vital Records

Vermont

Vermont State Records
Vermont State Library
Vermont Historical Society

Virginia

Library of Virginia
Virginia Division of Vital Records

Washington

Washington State Digital Archives
Washington Vital Records
Washington State Genealogical Society

 

West Virginia

West Virginia Archives and History
West Virginia Vital Records

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Vital Records
Wisconsin Historical Society
Wisconsin State Genealogical Society

Wyoming

Wyoming Vital Statistics
Wyoming State Archives