Find Books / eBooks - HIS 495 - Ross - LibGuides at North Carolina Wesleyan University

Library Catalog

Find Print Books & DVDs in the NCWU Library Catalog

eBook Resources

eBook Central
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
This collection has more than 60,000 eBook titles in various subject areas.
CREDO Reference
Online reference library with 750+ reference eBooks
Gale eBooks Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Home Grown eBooks Collection
An eBook collection of more than 1,200 fiction and nonfiction titles from eight North Carolina publishers.
JSTOR eBooks
Omnigraphics Health Reference Sourcebooks
Straightforward and authoritative eBooks on consumer health topics.

Freely Available eBooks

Directory of Open Access Books
The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of DOAB Foundation. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
NCBI Bookshelf
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.
Oapen Online Library
OAPEN promotes and supports the transition to open access for academic books by providing open infrastructure services to stakeholders in scholarly communication. We work with publishers to build a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provide services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
Open Library
Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive. To date, we have gathered over 20 million records from a variety of large catalogs as well as single contributions, with more on the way.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 58,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.

Selected eBooks

Note: To access eBook Central from home, you must create a free account with eBook Central. Go to "Sign In" on the blue bar that runs across the top, then look for "New to eBook Central" and create your account.

Christmas: A Candid History by Bruce David Forbes
Publication Date: 2007
Christmas in Germany by Joe Perry
Publication Date: 2010
Inventing the Christmas Tree by Bernd Brunner; Benjamin A. Smith (Translator)
Publication Date: 2012

Project Guttenberg

Other Christmas related books can be found online with Project Guttenberg https://www.gutenberg.org/. Project Guttenberg focuses on works for which US copyright has expired. A selection of books are below:

Christmas: Its Origin, Celebration and Significance as Related in Prose and Verse by Robert Haven Schauffler, ed.
Through prose and poetry, this book from 1907 represents Christmas in sections broken down into origin, celebration, significance and spirit, stories, old carols and exercises, and additional pieces.
A Christmas Carol in Prose; Being a Ghost Story of Christmas by Charles Dickens
This is the classic Christmas tale of Ebenezer Scrooge, visited by the Ghosts of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and Christmas Yet To Come.
Christmas Carols Old and New (1928) by Reverend H.R. Bramley
Christmas carols collected in this book found frequent use in the late 1800s and early 1900s.
Christmas in Ritual and Tradition, Christian and Pagan by Clement A. Miles
Presents the customs and traditions of Christmas, as known 1912.
Twas the Night before Christmas: A Visit from St. Nicholas by Clement Clarke Moore
The famous poem, published anonymously in 1823 and later attributed to Clement Clarke Moore, gives its tale in verses and pictures that helped shape perception of Santa.